Installing the OS from Turnkey LAMP Live CD to the Base

7 Nov

Now, I’m on to installing the LAMP stack on to the PC.

Hmmm, a little slower than expected, but based the PC specs, I guess I cannot complain.

I’ve ripped the following from a previous implementation plan I have done to shortcut discussing how I’ve built the base OS.

Oh, just found out that Google Docs has a 2MB doc limit when trying to convert a 7MB MS-Word 2010 DOCX into something I can edit online to copy’n’paste…  Oh well, just downloaded it to get the steps… and opening it in Lotus Symphony 3.  I don’t have MS-Office for MacOS X.  Pity, I like MS-Office.

Steps taken:

  1. Insert LIVE CD, power down PC and power up PC, and the Turnkey LAMP boot menu will come up.
  2. At the “Turnkey” boot screen, select “Install to hard disk”.
  3. At the “Debian Installer Live” screen, select “Guided – use entire disk”.
  4. At the “Debian Installer Live” screen, select “Yes” for the “Write the changes to disks” prompt.
  5. At the “Debian Installer Live” screen, select “Yes” for the “Install the GRUB boot loader to the master boot record” prompt.
  6. At the “Debian Installer Live” screen, select “Yes” for the “Would you like to restart now” prompt.
  7. Wait for reboot and entry into the “First Boot Configuration” screen to appear.
  8. At the “First Boot Configuration” screen, do the following:
  9. Enter “missLAMP” as the “root” password at the “Please enter a new password for the root account” prompt.
  10. Enter “missLAMP” as the “root” password at the “Confirm password” prompt.
  11. Enter “missLAMP” as the “root” password at the “Please enter a new password for the MySQL ‘root’ account” prompt.
  12. Enter “missLAMP” as the “root” password at the “Confirm password” prompt.
  13. Enter “missLAMP” as the “” password at the “Enter new password for the Mantis ‘admin’ account” prompt.
  14. Enter “missLAMP” as the “root” password at the “Confirm password” prompt.
  15. Select “Skip” at the “Initialize Hub Services” screen.
  16. Select “Install” at the “Security updates” screen to start downloading 150 MB of patches.  If I was at work, and they are watching their download quota, I would skip the downloading of these patches.  Unlike the late 1990s when I was playing with Caldera OpenLINUX 1.0, it is so nice that wired ethernet using DHCP just works and the patches are just downloading :).
  17. At the “LAMP appliance services” screen, take note of the following details, where LAMPHOST is the IP address from DHCP:
  1. If you’re at work, Disable “confconsole” through the “Webmin System Bootup and Shutdown” form.  I am skipping this step because I am at home and will have nothing secure on this PC.
  2. Name this host “jteplampbase” through the “Webmin Networking Hostname and DNS Client” form.
  3. Set the DNS servers “192.168.0.1” and “192,168.0.1” through the “Webmin Networking Hostname and DNS Client” form, noting the IP addresses are for my ROUTER at home.
  4. Set the Default router Gateway to “192.168.0.1” at the “Webmin Networking Routine and Gateways” form.
  5. The appliance is ready for use.

I think I’ll need to make it a static IP and set my router to reserve it.  I’ll do this later…

The LAMP stack installed on the first hard drive that is 80 GB.

Also, I had to manually destroy and create the partition on the second hard drive that is 120 GB.  This partition will be for me virtual machines.

We’re not done yet…  We need to connect to it through a SSH Terminal Emulator.

If I am using Microsoft Windows, I would be using my favourite SSH Terminal Emulator, PuTTY.

Since I am using MacOS X, and this is my first time connecting via SSH to a remote host from MacOS X, I’ll be trying iTerm2.  So, I download it.  It comes as a ZIP file containing a single runtime binary.  I run it and I am prompted to update it.  I run the update.  I launch the program and it appears just to open a shell window on my local MacOS X.  Hmmm…  OK, I’ll just use the SSH commands and then figure out if I can use iTerm2 like Putty.

Leave a Reply

